WashPost The Trail: McCain Campaign Co-Chair: ‘Guy of the Street’ Obama Should ‘Come Clean’ About Past Drug Use

WashPost The Trail

McCain Campaign Co-Chair: ‘Guy of the Street’ Obama Should ‘Come Clean’ About Past Drug Use

Former Oklahoma governor Frank Keating, a co-chair of Sen. John McCain’s campaign, called Sen. Barack Obama “very extreme” on a radio show Thursday and raised the issue of Obama’s drug use.

“He ought to admit, ‘You know, I’ve got to be honest with you. I was a guy of the street’,” Keating said. “‘I was way to the left. I used cocaine. I voted liberally, but I’m back at the center.'”

Keating made the comments on the radio show of comedian Dennis Miller.

Miller, a conservative, offered a long critique of Obama, calling him “the most liberal guy” and saying that the “obfuscation” and “smoke and mirrors” surrounding his campaign were “Clintonesque.”

“He’s starting to treat me like an idiot, too, when he’s blowing this smoke my way,” Miller said. “He ought to just come clean and say, ‘Listen, I came up through Chicago. You make some errors there.’ I’d almost be able to absolve it more easily then.”

Miller did correct Keating on the accusation of Obama hiding his drug use.

“Wait, I’ve got to jump in Frank. He has copped to the blow use, right?” Miller said, referring to Obama’s admission of cocaine use in his autobiography. “I mean, he did so in his own book he said he did blow.”

“Oh yes, he did,” Keating said.

Leave a Reply

