Republicoft: “That one.”

Republicoft

“That one.”

At least he didn’t say “That boy,” but he was just one word off. I heard it, and I saw it. I saw it first, actually, during the first debate when McCain refused to look Obama in the eye.

I heard it again when that white Republican congressman from Kentucky referred to Obama as “that boy.” I heard it before when that white Republican congressman from Georgia referred to Obama as “uppity,”and the later said that he had never heard it used in a racially derogatory sense. (Even though he grew up in Atlanta during the 1950s.) I heard it again when a radio host promoted a video of a pastor calling Obama’s mother “trash.”

I saw it when a Georgia bar owner sold t-shirts equating Obama with or portraying him as a monkey.

One Response

  1. I was in a roomful of friends laughing at our own rolling commentary on the debate, and “That one” stopped us cold. Amazing how one unfiltered turn of speech can reveal so much of the ugliness lying below a carefully-edited surface. If beauty is even skin deep, then John McCain has obviously been flayed.

Leave a Reply

