HipHop Republicans: Post-Racial Politics? Not Quite.

HipHop Republicans (9/23/08)

Post-Racial Politics? Not Quite.

In the Sunday, September 14th edition of the Washington Post, my Professor, Randall Kennedy, spoke to “The Big ‘What If,'” outlining the potential fallout should Senator Barack Obama lose this race for the presidency.

Professor Kennedy speaks to Black anxiety regarding the seemingly all-but-inevitable conclusion that should Obama lose, it will be because of “a vague, sophisticated, low-key prejudice that is chameleonlike in its ability to adapt to new surroundings and to hide even from those firmly in its grip.”

As an African-American supporting Senator John McCain this election cycle, I find it hard to believe that I am the unwitting victim of a subconscious racism that motivates my work against Senator Obama. In fact, like many young minority Republicans, I see Senator Obama as a role model. I will never look to question his accomplishments, his motivations, his patriotism or the historical significance of his run. But that does not keep many African-Americans from questioning my commitment to our community or the authenticity of my “Blackness” for differing with the good Senator on the issues. It would seem that this low-key prejudice and racism is present and active on both sides of the aisle.

