New Mexico Politics: Bernalillo County GOP Chair: “Hispanics consider themselves above blacks”

New Mexico Politics (9/19/08)

Bernalillo County GOP Chair: “Hispanics consider themselves above blacks”

I was alerted to this for an altogether different reason, but came across this astonishing quote by Bernalillo County Republican chairman Fernando C’ de Baca:

“The truth is that Hispanics came here as conquerors,” he said. “African-Americans came here as slaves.”Hispanics consider themselves above blacks. They won’t vote for a black president.”

The BBC writer acknowledged how wrong the statement seemed: “I wasn’t sure about this, though. Virtually all of the Hispanic voters I spoke to told me they were supporting Obama.”

I’m sure there are Hispanics who will vote for McCain or just not vote for Obama for various reasons. Reasons that they think are right. But saying we “consider themselves above blacks” just makes us all seem like racists.

